21 June - 25 June 2021, Online

4th European Conference on Flood Risk Management

Science and practice for an uncertain future



The following committees have been set up for this conference

Local Organising Committee | International Scientific CommitteeInternational Advisory Board

Local Organising Committee

Kardoss László, (Chair), BME, HU

  • Tamás Krámer, BME, HU
  • Péter Bakonyi, BME, HU
  • Derk van Ree, Deltares, NL
  • Jonathan Simm, HR Wallingford, UK
  • Estelle Morris, Samui, UK
  • Richard Holmes, Samui, UK
  • Rémy Tourment, INRAE, FR

International Scientific Committee

The International Scientific Committee (ISC) will oversee the relevance and content of the conference. It is led by:

Prof. Frans Klijn (Chair), Deltares, NL
Dr. Tamás Krámer (Co-chair), BME, HU
Dr. Ben Gouldby (Co-chair), HR Wallingford, UK
Dr. Michel Lang (Co-chair), INRAE, FR

  • Prof. Guiseppe Aronica
  • Mr. Peter Bakonyi 
  • Prof. Giuliano di Baldassare
  • Prof. Paul Bates
  • Mr. Pavel Biza
  • Prof. Istvan Bogardi
  • Prof. Marco Borga
  • Dr. Laurens Bouwer
  • Dr. Karin de Bruijn 
  • Prof. Attilio Castellarin  
  • Dr. Yousef Diab
  • Prof. Slobodan Djordjevic
  • Prof. Neelke Doorn
  • Prof. Felix Frances
  • Dr. Eric Gaume 
  • Dr. Frédéric Grelot 
  • Prof. Jim Hall 
  • Prof. Bas Jonkman
  • Prof. Thomas Kjeldsen
  • Prof. Matthijs Kok 
  • Dr. Heidi Kreibich
  • Dr. Henrik Madsen
  • Prof. Lindsey McEwen 
  • Prof. Bruno Merz 
  • Dr. Giuseppina Monacelli
  • Prof. Jayantha Obeysekera
  • Prof. Hocine Oumeraci  
  • Dr. Andre Paquier  
  • Dr. Sally Priest  
  • Prof. Panagiotis Prinos 
  • Prof. Roberto Ranzi 
  • Dr. Alain Recking
  • Prof. Jaromir Riha
  • Prof. Agustin Sanchez-Arcilla 
  • Mr. Paul Sayers 
  • Prof. Jochen Schanze 
  • Prof. Damien Serre 
  • Dr. Michael Sharp
  • Dr. Gheorghe Stancalie
  • Prof. Jan Szolgay
  • Prof. Annegret Thieken
  • Dr. Meindert Van
  • Dr. Alberto Viglione 
  • Prof. Freddy Vinet 
  • Prof. Philip Ward
  • Prof. Chris Zevenbergen 

Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board (IAB) will provide a link between research and practitioners. It is led by:

Mrs. Anouk te Nijenhuis, expert advisor Flood Risk Management with Deltares
Mr. Jonathan Simm,  (HR Wallingford, UK)
Mr. Rémy Tourment (INRAE France)

  • Petra Goessen, chair of the KRING of coastal engineers & Senior Technical Advisor of the Waterboard Hollands Noorderkwartier
  • Mr. JenÅ‘ Lábdy, deputy DG of the General Directorate of Water management/OVF in Hungary
  • Mrs Anne Schulte-Wülwer Leidig, executive secretary of the international commission for the protection of the Rhine
  • Mr. Titus Livius, deputy DG of the ministry of Public Works and Water management in the Netherlands 
  • Mr. Lorinc Meszaros, young professional, graduate from Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME), at present trainee with Deltares.
  • Mr. Andy Moores Program Manager Joint Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Research and Development Programme, Environment Agency UK
  • Dr. Mark Morris, Director Samui France
  • Mr. Clemens Neuhold, co-chair of the CIS working group on floods (WG F) and the chair of the flood protection expert group (FP-EG) of the ICPDR, Austrian Federal Ministry for Sustainability and Tourism
  • Mr. Michael K. Sharp, Technical Director, Engineer Research and Development Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers



Co-ordinated by: